Beard Science by Penny Reid – Review

 

Beard Science Winston Brother 3 Penny ReidBeard Science by Penny Reid
Series: Winston Brothers #3
Publisher: Cipher-Naught
Publication Date: October 11th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
5/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
Make a deal with the devil and you might get what you want, but will it be what you need?

Jennifer Sylvester wants one thing, and that one thing is NOT to be Tennessee’s reigning Banana Cake Queen. Ever the perpetual good girl and obedient daughter, Jennifer is buckling under the weight of her social media celebrity, her mother’s ambitions, and her father’s puritanical mandates. Jennifer is officially desperate.

And desperate times call for Cletus Winston.

Cletus Winston is a puzzle wrapped in a mystery covered in conundrum sauce, and now he’s in a pickle. Despite being convinced of his own omniscience, extortion by the exalted Banana Cake Queen of Green Valley has taken him completely by surprise. So… what’s a maniacal mastermind to do?

Likely, the last thing you expect.

‘Beard Science’ is the third book in the Winston Brothers series, is a full-length romantic comedy novel, and can be read as a standalone.


My Review

I think Beard Science may have eclipsed all others and become my favorite Penny Reid book to date. Going into Beard Science, I already loved these Winston boys deeply. When you already have a love of the characters, I think it can make you more invested in the story. So, no, you don’t necessarily have to have read the previous books in the Winston Brothers series to enjoy this book. That being said, to have a full appreciation of this book, this story, these characters, and their interactions, I truly believe you need to read the whole series. This includes Ashley’s story which is in the Knitting in the City series (Beauty and the Mustache), where readers are first introduced to the Winston brothers.

“This is what we do. We fix things. We’re tinker-ers. If we didn’t tinker with cars, we’d tinker with people.”

For some reason, I connected more deeply with this book than with the others in the series. Penny Reid’s characters are complex. I identified with Jennifer in several ways. Reading about her story (from both her and Cletus’s points of view), brought me weird comfort in a way other books haven’t. There were times I saw myself in her. This book makes me emotional partly because I feel so connected to these characters. I think fans of this series would agree that these characters feel real, like family. When they’re happy, you’re happy; when they’re sad, you’re sad.

“I’m so awkward, my awkward is embarrassed by my awkward.”

This book is funny, weird, sweet, sad, touching, lovely, and happy. It is a love story. It’s a story about two people who fall in love in a real, natural way. No insta-love here, which makes this story feel even more real. Cletus is wonderful, weird, funny, and everything I ever hoped he would be.

“I can’t admit I’m wrong about two things in the same day… It might bring about the apocalypse.”

I am so grateful for what I’ve learned through Jennifer and Cletus. If you like great stories with interesting not “normal” characters who immediately pull you into their lives and make you want to live there forever, then this book is for you.

“Stay away from the normals, the small-minded people who fill their brains with small-minded pursuits, who blend in and keep up with the Joneses. Those people will tear you down and make you boring. Instead, surround yourself with the weirds. With the misfits, oddballs, and outcasts. Because the normals, bless their hearts, have no idea how to have fun.”

*Just a FYI that this book contains some pretty steamy scenes.

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Beard Science by Penny Reid – Review

Leave a Reply

