Truly, Madly by Heather Webber – Review

Truly Madly Heather WebberTruly, Madly by Heather Webber
Series: Lucy Valentine #1
Publisher: St. Martin’s
Publication Date: February 2, 2010
Genres: Mystery, Paranormal, Cozy, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 305
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Source: Purchased
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
4/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
Lucy Valentine is as smart as can be, as single as you can get, and so not qualified to run a matchmaking service. But when her parents temporarily step down from the family business, Valentine, Inc., it’s Lucy’s turn to step up and help out—in the name of love.

Plus, her rent is due.

Here’s the problem: Lucy doesn’t have the knack for matchmaking. According to family legend, every Valentine has been blessed by Cupid with the ability to read “auras” and pair up perfect couples. But not Lucy. Her skills were zapped away years ago in an electrical surge, and now all she can do is find lost objects. What good is that in the matchmaking world? You’d be surprised. In a city like Boston, everyone’s looking for something. So when Lucy locates a missing wedding ring—on a dead body—she asks the sexy private eye who lives upstairs to help her solve the perfect crime. And who knows? Maybe she’ll find the perfect love while she’s at it…

 


My Review

A mystery novel with a twist!

All the Valentines can see the color of the aura surrounding individuals. Like her ancestors, Lucy Valentine had this power until one night when she was fourteen years old, and it literally got shocked out of her by an electrical surge. Lucy’s ability changed that night. Now with just a touch to another person’s palm, Lucy is able to see and find whatever object that person might have lost.

Lucy is of the mindset that her power is useless trick, that it can do no real good. Through

the events in the story, she learns that her ability does allow her to do so much more than just find her father’s lost swim trunks.

I really enjoyed this story. It didn’t start out as a page turner, but it certainly ended up that way. I like to tell myself that I’m good at figuring out the killer in stories. Whether it be books, movies, or TV shows. But I’m just giving myself too much credit. I thought I had the killer locked up tight, but then Webber threw me for a loop. I’ll admit I was wrong on this one. Well done for keeping my on my toes.

The love story wasn’t in the forefront of the story, but somehow it was always there, on the side helping the story along. This book spans the length of about a week or so (if I followed correctly). I’m happy that the author made Sean and Lucy’s friendship and subsequent deeper feelings for each other realistic. A lot of times authors make their hero and heroine meet, fall in love, and get their happily ever after all in the span of a few weeks. I was happy with where Webber took Lucy and Sean, and how the story ended up. Otherwise it definitely would have felt like insta-love.

Overall “Truly, Madly” was a very enjoyable book. I’m excited there are more books in the series and rumor has it Webber is writing a sixth book! I can’t wait to read more about Lucy, Sean, Raphael, Marisol, Em and of course Dovie!

Save

Leave a Reply

