A Place in the Sun by R.S. Grey – Review

A Place in the Sun RS GreyA Place in the Sun by R.S. Grey
Publisher: R.S. Grey
Publication Date: October 24, 2016
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 348
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
⭐️⭐️
2/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & Noble

Synopsis:
When her mother’s incessant matchmaking hits an all-time high, Georgie Archibald does what any sensible woman would do: she flees the country.

Seeking refuge in the picturesque seaside village of Vernazza, Italy, Georgie’s only plan is to lie low, gorge herself on gelato, and let the wine and waves wash her troubles away… that is until she wakes up in a bed that belongs to the most romantic-looking man she’s ever seen.
Gianluca.
After going out of his way to rescue her, the former London financier turned mysterious recluse makes it clear that despite acting as her white knight, he has no plans to co-star in her fairytale.
But Georgie isn’t asking for his heart—she’s merely intrigued.
After all, Gianluca isn’t just gorgeous—tall and tan from days spent in the sun—his touch sets her world on fire. With him, Georgie experiences the most intoxicating passion she’s ever known, and it only takes a few steamy nights for her to realize that sometimes running away from trouble is the best way to find it.


My Review

I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book. It’s the first book I’ve read by this author, but it was getting a lot of attention on social media, so I decided to give it a shot.

The synopsis isn’t very accurate in my opinion. In a nut shell, this book is about a girl who leaves home (aka estate, as she’s from a very wealthy family), and goes to a beautifully picturesque Italian town on the coast, and proceeds to fall in love with a broody, extremely handsome Italian man who has a lot of baggage and is not looking to love anyone. While there were one or two so-called surprises, overall it was very predictable and a bit too perfect of a story for me. I like my characters to have real human flaws. I found Georgie annoying more often than not, and very much a typical rom-com heroine.

I’m sad to say I didn’t find it very funny. There were a couple times, much later on in the story, when Gianluca thought/said something funny, but honestly I can’t remember really any funny bits.

Overall, I just felt it was a very predictable romance story, with characters who didn’t have much depth. And it didn’t help that I hated one thing in particular that happens towards the end of the story. It was obvious as a reader what was going on, but Georgie was painfully ignorant, and that made me feel like she was a character, as opposed to a real person. (Obviously she’s not real, but in my opinion, well written characters will feel real to the reader). Honestly, I don’t think this particular thing added anything to the story.

Disappointed to say I didn’t really like this one. That said, I am not giving up on books by Grey. I plan on reading more by her in the future. I enjoyed the writing, just didn’t care for the story.

*There are some steamy scenes.

Save

Leave a Reply

