The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell – Review

The Young Wives Club Julie PennellThe Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell
Publisher: Atria, Emily Bestler Books, Alloy Entertainment
Publication Date: February 14, 2017
Genres: Women’s Fiction
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
5/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Continue reading

Better Love by Daisy Prescott – Review

Better Love Daisy PrescottBetter Love by Daisy Prescott
Series: Wingmen #4
Publisher: Daisy Prescott
Publication Date: November 1, 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 266
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
⭐️⭐️⭐️
3/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & Noble – Kobo

Synopsis:
Maybe that old song got it right.
Maybe love can be better the second time around.
When one of my wingmen needs help, I’ll do anything for him, including calling in a favor with the one person I swore I’d never speak to again.
Not after I walked away from that life five years ago and ditched the trappings of Continue reading

Love Hacked by Penny Reid – Review

Love Hacked Knitting in the City Penny ReidLove Hacked by Penny Reid
Series: Knitting in the City #3
Publisher: Caped Publishing
Publication Date: March 3, 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy, Smart Romance
Pages: 390
Format: eBook
Source: Library
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
4/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & Noble NookKobo

Synopsis:
There are three things you need to know about Sandra Fielding: 1) She makes all her first dates cry, 2) She hasn’t been kissed in over two years, and 3) She knows how to knit.

Sandra has difficulty removing her psychotherapist hat. Of her last 30 dates, 29 have ended the Continue reading

Pretty Little World by Elizabeth LaBan and Melissa DePino – Review

Pretty Little World Elizabeth LaBan Melissa DePinoPretty Little World by Elizabeth LaBan and Melissa DePino
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Publication Date: January 17, 2017
Genres: Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: eARC
⭐️⭐️
2/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & Noble

Synopsis:
On a cozy street in Philadelphia, three neighboring families have become the best of friends. They can’t imagine life without one another—until one family outgrows their tiny row house. In a bid to stay together, a crazy idea is born: What if they tear down the walls Continue reading

Literary Bites: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Do you ever come across a book that describes what sounds like a delicious meal, dessert, or dish? It has happened to me a lot recently and I thought it would be a fun idea to try and bake something inspired by the book! This new blog series (which I am calling Literary Bites) will include a mini-review of a book, along with a recipe that I was inspired to make while reading it. I am aiming for this to be a once-a-month series. It all depends on if I read a book that inspires me to bake or cook something!

For the first one, I have picked To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. The main character, Lara Jean, loves to bake! There is a whole discussion between the characters in Continue reading

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – Review

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry Gabrielle ZevinThe Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Publication Date: December 2, 2014
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
Source: Gift
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
4/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
A.J. Fikry owns a failing bookshop. His wife has just died, in tragic circumstances. His rare and valuable first edition has been stolen. His life is a wreck. Amelia is a book rep, with a big heart, and a lonely life. Maya is the baby who ends up on AJ’s bookshop floor with a note. What happens in the bookshop that changes the lives of these seemingly normal but extraordinary characters? This is the story of how unexpected love can rescue you and Continue reading

Swear on This Life by Renée Carlino – Review

Swear On This Life Renee CarlinoSwear on This Life by Renée Carlino
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: August 9, 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
⭐️⭐️⭐️
3/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.

Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through Continue reading

Goals for 2017

b91c25130bf2b51589a73633db95bafb

Happy New Year! I cannot believe another year has already gone by. I probably say that every year, but I still find it jarring how quickly time goes by. There were a lot of changes for me this year, but the biggest one was moving all the way to Los Angeles in September. I am still adjusting and finding my place here, but I have hope that however long I have left here in the city, will be good!

So, resolutions. I decided not to do so-called resolutions this year, but did come up with some goals. I find if I trick myself into renaming them ‘goals’ they are more attainable. I Continue reading