Goals for 2017

b91c25130bf2b51589a73633db95bafb

Happy New Year! I cannot believe another year has already gone by. I probably say that every year, but I still find it jarring how quickly time goes by. There were a lot of changes for me this year, but the biggest one was moving all the way to Los Angeles in September. I am still adjusting and finding my place here, but I have hope that however long I have left here in the city, will be good!

So, resolutions. I decided not to do so-called resolutions this year, but did come up with some goals. I find if I trick myself into renaming them ‘goals’ they are more attainable. I love the quote in the photo above, and that will definitely be my motto for this year. I hope my goals for 2017 inspire you to make some of your own. May 2017 be your best year yet!


My Goals for 2017

  1. Read 104 books
    • It’s a big goal, but if I break it down to 2 books a week, it’s more manageable. It is an increase from my goal in 2016, and I think it’ll push and challenge me. What is your reading goal?
  2. Volunteer
    • I wanted to start volunteering in 2016, but time got away from me. This is a priority of mine for 2017. I am going to try to start with my local library, but also want to explore other opportunities. Let me know if you have any ideas!
  3. Join and attend an in-person book club
    • I was so excited when I found a book club via Meetup.com. The first meeting I will attend is in January. I’m an introvert, so joining a new group where I don’t know anyone is definitely out of my comfort zone. Since moving to a new city, I haven’t met a lot of people, so I’m hoping joining a book club will help!
  4. Visit 6-12 museums
    • There are so many great museums here in LA, and I want to take advantage of them while I am here. A few on my list include the LACMA, The Broad, The Getty, Skirball Cultural Center, as well as the Griffith Observatory.
  5. Write a letter once a week
    • Stationery is a love of mine, and I don’t want letter writing to be forgotten. I want to do my part to keep handwriting alive! And who doesn’t like getting real snail mail in their mailbox?
  6. Meal plan —> eat more veggies!
    • Cooking for one is both a blessing and a curse. You can fix what you like without worrying about others, but there’s always so much leftover if you use a recipe. My meals are usually last-minute and not well thought out. So a goal of mine is to meal plan, and try to cook for myself on a regular basis. And eat more vegetables!
  7. Find full-time work in desired field
    • I originally came to LA to pursue a career in costuming. Whether I decide to continue that pursuit, or pursue a different career, I want to find full-time work this year.
  8. Get outside more!
    • The weather in Southern California is so nice 95% of the time, and I want to take advantage of that. There are some great hiking areas here, parks, as well as the beach not too far.
  9. Drink more water!
    • I’ve been pretty good about this, but I think I could do better. I need to be more conscious of how much water I am drinking. Goal is 64 ounces, which is about 4 refills of my water bottle.
  10. Own my decisions
    • This is probably the biggest, and most challenging, of all my goals this year. As I’m sure many others do, I tend to not only compare myself to others, but worry about what others think of me. Even if those other people are strangers, or acquaintances I haven’t spoken to in years! It sounds so crazy when I say it (or write it) out loud. So this year, I am going to work on owning my choices. Big or small. Whether that choice is to sleep in, or go for a run; order a tea, or a mocha; work in costuming, or change my mind and pursue a different career. At the end of the day, I have to live with the choices I make. Not those strangers, or acquaintances, not even my friends or family members. It is going to be tough, and I know that sometimes I will fail; but it is important. In the end, I think it has the possibility to make a huge positive impact on my life.

So here’s to 2017! What are your goals for this year?

3 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. Joanna Lynn says:

    Happy new year. These all sound like very positive goals. I know you will at least achieve to be better at all of them even if some you can’t achieve every day. Don’t be too hard on yourself on those days when you just don’t quite get them all done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

