Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – Review

Everything Everything Nicola YoonEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover
Source: Borrowed from a friend
⭐️⭐️⭐️
3/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall,lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


5 Reasons to Read This Book

1. The Diversity

The main character, Madeline, is half black and half Japanese. She didn’t talk a lot about her race, probably because she didn’t interact with anyone other than her mother and her nurse Carla. Still, it has more diverse characters than some other books. It also has a inter-racial couple, as Olly is white.

2. The Unique Writing Style

Dispersed throughout the book are illustrations and drawings. It was a new and interesting way to show different events. It also gave me the feeling that I was getting a deeper peek into Maddy’s life.

3. Olly

He is a pretty cute boy next door. He’s had to grow up because of his home life, but he hasn’t lost his sense of humor. He is gentle and sweet with Madeline, and is definitely someone girls will swoon for. Heck, the high school girl in me swooned.

“Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and the only time all at once.”

4. Addresses Difficult Issues

Without giving too much away, this book touches on mental illness as well as domestic violence. The descriptions of the domestic violence made my heart race like I was witnessing it myself. I could feel Maddy’s emotions as clearly as if they were my own. It also touched on mental illness. I only wish it had explored it more.

5. The Relationships

And I’m not only talking about the relationship between Maddy and Olly. But also Maddy’s relationship with her nurse Carla. She’s been her nurse for 15 years, and they have a very close relationship – very much mother-daughter. I liked Carla much more than I liked Maddy’s mother. I felt like Carla was much more supportive of Maddy than her own mother was. It was a great example of how it is important to have more than one support and mentor in your life.

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”

Leave a Reply

