Royally Screwed by Emma Chase – Review

royally-screwed-emma-chaseRoyally Screwed by Emma Chase
Series: Royally #1
Publisher:
 Emma Chase, LLC
Publication Date: October 16, 2016
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 276
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
⭐️⭐️
2/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo

Synopsis:
Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.
Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.
Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.
There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.
But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.


My Review

First, a funny side note. This is the first book I’ve ever read that features a shirtless guy on the cover. I don’t know why, but I find that funny, especially considering it’s not the first romance I’ve read. Ok, moving on now… 

The reason I picked this book up in the first place was because I saw the sequel being advertised recently. I read the synopsis for that book and thought it sounded interesting. But then I saw that it was a series, and I figured since I was only one book behind, I’d give the first one a go.

Where to start. It was… okay. I didn’t really care all that much for either Nicholas or Olivia. I thought Nicholas was brash, disrespectful, and self-centered. Which, in the book, he is described as being and knows he is. But for some reason, Olivia likes it? She even says that she likes her guys to be a bit jerky…. uhhhhh ok. There is a difference between being confident and being an arrogant jerk. Be as confident as you like, but please, leave the arrogance at home. I think no matter your status, celebrity or regular joe, rich or poor, royal or commoner, you don’t have to be arrogant.

Olivia fell flat for me. We got some details and a peek into her somewhat difficult relationship with her alcoholic father, but all the discussion she and Nick had about their pasts or their difficulties were summarized or glazed over. There wasn’t anything I could sink my teeth into pertaining these two. Honestly, I was much more intrigued and interested in Henry’s story, the brief glimpse we got of his troubled time in the military, than anything to do with Nick and Olivia.

I really wanted to know what legislation Nicholas and his grandmother, The Queen, were trying to pass in Parliament. All we got was that it was something to do with wages and jobs, but nothing else. I’m a smart girl who happens to like reading romance books. But I want those romance books to not undermine my intelligence. I was genuinely interested in the specifics of the legislation. I wish the author would have given her readers more credit, and written more about it. It is possible to want a love story but also want some brain food to go along with it.

I love the Royals. Ask anyone who knows me well, and they will tell you I love the British Royal Family. I had high hopes going into this that it would give me a royal fix. Unfortunately, it just didn’t do it for me.

I’m giving it two stars because, I mean, I didn’t hate it. I just didn’t really care for it. If you want something easy, steamy, and fluffy that doesn’t require you to think too much, then Royally Screwed is for you. If you like your books with more depth, then you probably should go to the next book on your to-read list.

3 thoughts on “Royally Screwed by Emma Chase – Review

Leave a Reply

