Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

giphy4

Hello hello hello! Hope you all are doing well on this very green day. In honor of this St. Patrick’s Day I thought I’d share some books by Irish authors. I’ve included some I’ve read and recommend, as well as some that are on my to-read list. 

Books by Irish authors I’ve Read and Recommend

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks (Free!) – Kobo

If you’ve never read this play by Wilde, you need to get. on. it. It’s hilarious and clever, and as a bonus, the film adaptation with Reese Witherspoon and Colin Firth is just as wonderful! You’ll laugh so hard you’ll cry.

giphy

Love, Rosie (also titled Where Rainbows End) by Cecelia Ahren

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKobo

A great story of two friends who can’t seem to get the timing right when it comes to getting together. There is a film adaptation with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin, but I didn’t care for it. It deviated from the book too much in my opinion. But I definitely recommend the book!

giphy1

The Cad and The Co-Ed (Rugby Series #3) by L.H. Cosway and Penny Reid

Goodreads – Amazon (Kindle Unlimited!) – Barnes & Noble

This series collaboration by Irish author L.H. Cosway and American author Penny Reid is wonderful. All the books in the series can be read as standalones. The characters overlap, but each book has different main characters. This was my favorite of the series (thus far), and it was incredibly funny. Definitely the funniest of the three in my opinion. Plus, Rugby players. Need I say more? Read my full review here.

giphy2

Books by Irish authors on my ‘to be read’ list

Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKobo

I saw the movie version, but really want to read the book. I usually read the book before seeing the movie, but in this case I just couldn’t wait. The movie looked so good. And it was! Which is one reason why I want to go back and read the book.

Room by Emma Donoghue

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKobo

Another book with a film adaptation. The idea of the book’s narrator being a 5 year old child, and the premise of the book, really intrigues me. It’s been on my list for a while, but I’m hoping to get to it soon.

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad #1) by Tana French

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKobo

I haven’t read any of French’s books, but this one sounds so good! I usually don’t read strictly mystery or thriller novels, not since Gone Girl (which I didn’t like), but I’ve heard great things about this series.

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What books would you add?
Welp, that’s about it for now. Have a safe and fun St. Patrick’s Day.
Don’t forget to wear your green!

giphy3

Leave a Reply

