Blog Tour: Lost Rider by Harper Sloan – Review

Cowboy holding saddle silhouette

lostriderLost Rider by Harper Sloan
Series: Coming Home #1
Publisher: Pocket Books
Publication Date: April 25, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Western
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: ARC

AmazonBarnes & Noble – iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!


5 Reasons You Might Want To Read This Book!

1. You love contemporary western romances

This book is what I think of as a quintessential western romance. You’ve got the small town, supportive mother-like figure, the best friend, and the gossipy townsfolk. There are so many darlin’s, honeys, and talks of going for a ride (*wink wink*) you’ll be transported to the south faster than you can say “Well butter my biscuits!”

2. Damaged alpha heroes who also happen to be cowboys and rodeo stars are your bread and butter

Maverick Davis is the definition of a damaged alpha hero, in my opinion. He is quite frankly an asshole at the beginning of the book. (I prefer my heroes more beta than alpha, but that’s a discussion for another day). He doesn’t make the best decisions, and let’s his tongue loose before even thinking that his words might do damage to someone else. Thankfully, the Maverick at the end of the story is much more healed, and much less of an asshole.

3. Second Chance Romance with a dash of Unrequited Love

Personally, I love second chance romances. Things don’t always work out the way you want the first time, but in this story our Hero and Heroine get a second chance to make it right. The unrequited love aspect added a heartbreaking twist that keeps the reader on their toes.

4. Emotional Journeys and Self-Discovery equivalent to a rollercoaster ride

The journey each of our protagonists take throughout this book is one helluva ride. You learn about each of them at the same time that they are learning about themselves. Their personal growth throughout this book is quite astounding. There are lots of inner-monologues for both the Hero and Heroine, so if you like getting a first hand look into the psyche of the main characters, you’ll love this.

5. Love scenes so steamy you think the pages might incinerate

Now, this is kind of subjective depending on what type of romances you’re used to reading. For me, I considered the love scenes in this book to be super steamy with the door left wide open. Personally, I could have done with less steam and probably been happier. But everyone likes something different when it comes to their books – and that is what makes reading so great! There is a book out there for everyone. So, if you like your love scenes steaming off the page, then I don’t think you’ll be disappointed here.

I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Meet the Author: Harper Sloan

harper1

Harper is a NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, and USA TODAY bestselling author residing in Georgia with her husband and three daughters. She has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books, hibachi, tattoos, and Game of Thrones. When she isn’t writing you can almost always find her with a book in hand.

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | Amazon Author Page



Quinn Davis, Maverick’s sister and Leighton’s best friend, takes center stage in KISS MY BOOTS, book two in the Coming Home Series, releasing in July!

Add KISS MY BOOTS on Goodreads

cominghome1

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour: Lost Rider by Harper Sloan – Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s