Blog Tour: The Foxe & The Hound by R.S. Grey – Review

 

foxe-tourbanner

TheFoxe&TheHoundEbookCover

The Foxe & The Hound by R.S. Grey
Author: R.S. Grey
Publication Date: June 1, 2017
Genres: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Source: ARC

Amazon – Goodreads

Synopsis:

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.

It’s just that my lofty dreams—making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily—have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.

That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.

With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every 

housewife in Hamilton is dragging neglected tomcats in for weekly checkups.

Like everyone else, I’m intrigued. Even after I spoil my chance at a good first impression, he still offers me a proposition I can’t refuse: play his girlfriend at a family function and he’ll hire me as his real estate agent. Welcome to love in the 21st century.

It’s too bad I underestimated Adam’s irresistible charm and the undeniable attraction that burns between us. The day he pins me to the wall and silences me with a kiss, the line between reality and ruse begins to blur. Every teasing touch brings me to my knees. Every kiss promises more.

It looks like my hot mess of a life is about to get a little hotter.


My Review:

I admit I was a bit nervous to read this latest book by R.S. Grey. Why you ask? Well, I’ve only read two of her books previously, and neither ranked very high on my list… don’t hate me.

BUT! There’s a BUT… I really really enjoyed The Foxe & The Hound! It is definitely my favorite R.S. Grey novel I’ve read thus far.

I really connected with the heroine, Madeline. She’s 27, and well, struggling quite a bit in life, and in the verb we now know as ‘adulting.’ She’s a real estate agent, but has only sold one house (to family members), she hasn’t dated anyone in quite a while and the prospects in her small town of Hamilton, Texas, aren’t great. Her character is quite endearing, and I could definitely feel her pain throughout the book. I also LOVED her humor!

Things start to spice up when the new veterinarian comes to town. Adam seemingly has all his stuff together. But not so quick, he’s got some surprises up his sleeves. Being that he is a young, attractive, single male, and new to town, he catches the eye of pretty much every female in Hamilton; including Madeline.

Unfortunately their first meeting doesn’t start off on the right foot. But don’t worry, things progressively get better for the two of them.

I’m not sure what made me like this R.S. Grey book so much more over the other two I read. But here are just a few things I loved about this book.

  1. The pace of Madeline and Adam’s relationship
    • It started slow in a sense, because there wasn’t any inkling of insta-love, thank God. I’m really tired of insta-love, but that is a post for another day. Yes, there was attraction between Madeline and Adam, but there weren’t any overwhelming feelings of love the first few times they interacted; and I really liked that.
  2. The humor
    • I loved Madeline’s humor in this story. Her thoughts were so funny, and every time something went amiss in her life I both laughed and felt bad for her. Mostly because I saw myself in her at times.

  3. The feelings, oh the feelings
    • Not something I was expecting going into this book, but I got surprisingly emotional at certain parts throughout the book. In particular there is a scene at the puppy training class, and I got joked up. I could feel how Madeline felt in that moment so strongly, it was as if I was in Madeline’s shoes. So BRAVO to R.S. Grey for her incredibly wonderful writing skills.

Overall, an extremely enjoyable reading experience. I may even splurge and get it in paperback!

I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.


About the Author:

author

R.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including THE FOXE & THE HOUND. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs, and can be found reading, binge-watching reality TV, or practicing yoga! Visit her at rsgrey.com

Connect with R.S. Grey:

Teaser#2

Leave a Reply

