Blog Tour: Until it Fades by K.A. Tucker – Review

UIF_BlogTourButton

until-it-fades-_hr
Until it Fades
 by K.A. Tucker

Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: June 13, 2017
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
Add to Goodreads

5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks – Kobo

Synopsis: 

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, 

Pennsylvania (population three thousand outside of tourist season). 

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed date, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has rescued: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works. For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. There’s an immediate connection, and it’s more electric than the bond of two people who endured a traumatic event. It’s something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something she is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?


My Review

This is the first book I read by K.A. Tucker and I LOVED it! It was such a heartwarming, uplifting, sweet book. A modern day Cinderella story, but with a twist.

One thing I especially loved was that Tucker really allowed the reader to get to know Catherine. With flashbacks to the past, you get to be inside 17/18 year old Catherine’s mindset. I did feel this helped me understand why her character made some of the decisions she did, in the past as well as the present. I was definitely rooting for her to succeed, as well as to get her HEA.

Brett. Sigh. I loved his character. He was such a stand up guy. Genuinely nice and thoughtful. I liked that he wasn’t an overtly “alpha male.” In fact, I didn’t actually classify him as one at all. He honestly seemed like a normal guy I’d meet in real life. Other than the fact that he is a famous hockey player and extremely wealthy of course.

There was one particular twist that I didn’t see coming. Tucker did a masterful job at surprising me. I tend to believe I figure things out sooner, or at least see possibilities, but I honestly didn’t with this one.

Catherine’s life is far from perfect. Even though she does get her HEA (hopefully that isn’t a spoiler… I mean, it is a romance book so a HEA is pretty much guaranteed), not everything in her life is picture perfect at the end of the story; and I actually liked that. Not all her relationships were resolved or patched up. That made the story seem more relatable, and I really appreciated that.

Some stand-out characters for me were definitely Lou and Leroy, as well as Brett’s dad Richard, and of course Brenna. I also really liked Catherine’s close relationship with her brother Jack. There were honestly so many wonderful things and characters in this story I could go on and on. 

This is the perfect read to enjoy anywhere and anytime. I wanted to start from the first page again, as soon as I had read the last. Highly recommended to everyone, especially those of you who are a sucker for a good romance novel.

I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Giveaway!

Click the link below to enter for your chance to
win 1 of 5 signed copies of Until it Fades by K.A. Tucker!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


KATucker_authorphoto

Meet the author: K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the author of He Will Be My Ruin and the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series. She currently resides outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and a Chug.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

