Blog Tour: The Beau & The Belle by R.S. Grey – Review

TB&TBEbookCover.pngThe Beau & The Belle by R.S. Grey
Publication Date: February 1, 2018
Publisher: R.S. Grey
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Format: eBook
Source: ARC



Beau Fortier starred in most of my cringe-worthy teenage fantasies.

I met him when I was a junior in high school, a time that revolved exclusively around bad hair, failed forays into flirting, and scientific inquiries into which brand of toilet paper worked best for stuffing bras.

That is, until Beau moved into the small guest house just beyond my bedroom window.

A 24-year-old law student at Tulane, Beau was as mysterious to me as second base (both in baseball and in the bedroom). He was older. Intimidating. Hot. Boys my age had chicken legs and chubby cheeks. Beau had calloused hands and a jaw cut from steel. Our interactions were scarce—mostly involving slight stalking on my end—and yet deep down, I desperately hoped he saw me as more of a potential lover than a lovesick loser.

Turns out, I was fooling myself. My fragile ego learned that lesson the hard way.

Now, ten years later, we’re both back in New Orleans, and guess who suddenly can’t take his eyes off little ol’ me.

My old friend, Mr. Fortier.

But things have changed. I’m older now—poised and confident. My ego wears a bulletproof vest. The butterflies that once filled my stomach have all perished.

When I was a teenager, Beau warned me to guard my heart.

Let’s hope he knows how to guard his.

5 Reasons Why You Might Love This Book!

1. You Love Contemporary Romantic Comedies

R.S. Grey is one of the best writers of contemporary romantic comedies. Whether you like the storylines or not, you cannot deny that this woman knows how to write a rom-com. She’s a master at it. I found The Beau & The Belle particularly hilarious, especially Part One, which takes place in the past when Lauren is in high school. The writing is witty, fun, and snappy.

2. Unrequited love combined with second chance romance is your sweet spot

This book is told in two parts. The first part is the “past.” Lauren is a 17-year old junior in high school when Beau, a 24-year old law student, rents out the guest house of her parent’s house. I’d say Lauren is smitten by Beau right away, I mean who wouldn’t be: very cute, mature, intelligent, college guy when you’re an awkward 17-year old. It’s obvious there’s going to be some attraction on at least one end. (Also, let’s remember this is not the 2018 17-year old, this is the early-to-mid 2000s 17-year old. Very different in my opinion.). Anyways, some will say that this is a case of ‘love at first sight,’ but you should know that I do not believe in ‘love at first sight.’ ‘Lust at first sight’ however, is a very real thing, and I think that is what happens to Lauren.

Without too many spoilers, at the end of part one Lauren and Beau are forced to go their separate ways until they are reunited in part two (the present). Feelings get revealed, some of which are surprising, and unrequited love becomes requited (is that a word?). (Also, I don’t think that’s a spoiler, it is a romance so the HEA* is kind of a given if we are following RWA** rules).  If you like second chances and unrequited love stories, this book is for you.

3. You want to be transported to a different place while never leaving your living room

Grey does a spectacular job describing the New Orleans atmosphere. It has been several years since I’ve visited, but I was brought right back to Bourbon street, the French Quarter, and the hot humid air while reading this book.

4. You are craving a healthy dose of nostalgia

Now, some of this probably only pertains to people who were in high school between the years of 2000-2010. But if you were in high school before cell phones were the norm, you ran home after school so you could talk to your friends and crushes via AIM, and the most stressful thing going on was whether or not your crush was going to come to your pool party, then this book is going to give you flashbacks. It was one of the best things about the book in my opinion. I loved how much I could relate to Lauren and felt her pain through all her awkwardness during Part One.

5. You want to laugh

This one speaks for itself. I also touched on this on number one, but it is worth mentioning again. This book is a comedy and you will laugh. I dare you not to.

I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book courtesy of the author in exchange for an honest review.

Click the links below to see my reviews of R.S. Grey’s other novels:

*HEA = Happily Ever After
**RWA = Romance Writers of America

About the Author:

authorR.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including THE FOXE & THE HOUND. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs, and can be found reading, binge-watching reality TV, or practicing yoga! Visit her at

Connect with R.S. Grey:


The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell – Review

The Young Wives Club Julie PennellThe Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell
Publisher: Atria, Emily Bestler Books, Alloy Entertainment
Publication Date: February 14, 2017
Genres: Women’s Fiction
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
5/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Continue reading