My Dream Author Panel

One of my favorite things about being a reader is talking to other readers about a book we both love. What’s even better is talking to the author who wrote that book! I’ve been lucky enough to go to a couple of panels, and I loved getting to hear the authors speak about their books, their process, and their inspiration firsthand. So today, I wanted to share who I would choose to be on my dream author panel.

Speaking of author panels, did you know that Eventbrite is a great place to find book conferences, author signings, and other book related events? You can also plan and organize your own event;  like this dream panel I’m writing about.

When I was planning out my dream author panel, I actually found it a lot tougher than I thought it would be. There are so many authors I would love the opportunity to hear speak, so it was difficult to narrow it down.

As an avid reader of women’s fiction and romance, by both independently and traditionally published authors, I thought this would be a great opportunity to imagine a panel that features both. Some of these authors got their start writing fan-fiction, others published their first book with a traditional publisher, and one is a very successful author who publishes all her work independently.

Here is a little about each author, and why I chose them to be on this dream panel. What authors would you choose to be on yours?

AUTHORS

BIM-cover (2)PENNY REID

A little about the author: Penny Reid is the USA Today Best Selling Author of the Winston Brothers and Knitting in the City series. When she’s not immersed in penning smart romances, Penny works in the biotech industry as a researcher. She’s also a full-time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

Why I choose her: I am a huge fan of Reid’s books and have devoted all of them multiple times. I’ve had the opportunity to meet her twice, and both times she was so fun and just lovely. She is an expert at writing anti-trope romances and her most recent publication, Beard in Mind, was a touching, and funny story that hit it out of the park. I think she’d make an awesome addition to the panel, and could give us all an in-depth look at what it is like to publish books independently.

until-it-fades-_hrK.A. TUCKER

A little about the author: K.A. Tucker writes captivating stories with an edge. She is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water, and her latest Adult Suspense novel, He Will Be My Ruin. Her books have been featured in national publications including USA Today, Globe & Mail, Suspense Magazine, and Publisher’s Weekly.
K.A. Tucker currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband and two beautiful girls. Unfortunately, there is no Chug to keep her company while writing anymore, but she’s hoping that her husband will relent and welcome another four-legged creature into the house again, and soon.

Why I choose her: I recently read my first book by Tucker, Until It Fades, and it made me an instant fan of hers. I immediately put all her books on my TBR list and can’t wait to read them. She’d make a great addition to the panel as she has published books independently, but now publishes with a traditional publisher. She’d add great insight to both sides.

32620304CHRISTINA LAUREN

A bit about the writing duo: Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received multiple starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and Library Journal, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine and have been featured in publications such as Forbes, The Washington Post, Time, Entertainment Weekly, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography will be released in September, followed by a contemporary romance, Roomies in December.

Why I choose them: Not only could they bring the unique perspective on writing books with a co-author, but their first book was originally fan fiction. It was so popular, that it gained the attention of the traditional publishing houses, and was expanded and republished by Gallery Books. I loved their recent book, Dating You/Hating You, and would love this duo on the panel.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Taylor Jenkins ReidTAYLOR JENKINS REID

A little about the author: Taylor Jenkins Reid lives in Los Angeles and is the acclaimed author of One True Loves, Maybe in Another Life, After I Do, and Forever, Interrupted. Her most recent novel, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, comes out June 13th. Her novels have been named best books of summer by People, Cosmopolitan, Glamour, InStyle, PopSugar, BuzzFeed, Goodreads, and others.

In addition to her novels, Taylor’s essays have appeared in places such as the Los Angeles Times, The Huffington Post, and Money Magazine.

Why I choose her: Reid has always been traditionally published. Her debut novel, Forever, Interrupted, was published by Washington Square Press in 2013. I am a huge fan of Reid’s work and have had the chance to hear her speak twice. Her most recent book, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, was a step outside what she normally writes, but was still at its core, essential Reid.  She also has a background in television writing and adapting her books for tv and film. Her experience would bring an interesting unique viewpoint to the panel.

MODERATOR

25205422JENNIFER WEINER

A little about the author: Jennifer Weiner is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of fourteen books, including Good in BedThe Littlest Bigfoot, and her memoir Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and Writing. A graduate of Princeton University and contributor to the New York Times Opinion section, she lives with her family in Philadelphia.

Why I choose her to moderate: Weiner has written fiction books for adults, as well as middle-grade novels. Her most recent book was a nonfiction collection Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and WritingHer book Who Do You Love is one of my all-time favorites. With her extensive experience in the publishing world, I think she’d be the perfect candidate to moderate this panel.

I hope my post has inspired you to think about your dream author panel or dream book related event. Let me know in the comments below what authors you would choose!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid – Review

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: June 13, 2017
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 336
Format: eBook & Hardcover
Source: ARC
Add on Goodreads
5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleKoboiBooks

Synopsis: 
Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career

Continue reading

Blog Tour: The Foxe & The Hound by R.S. Grey – Review

 

foxe-tourbanner

TheFoxe&TheHoundEbookCover

The Foxe & The Hound by R.S. Grey
Author: R.S. Grey
Publication Date: June 1, 2017
Genres: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Source: ARC

Amazon – Goodreads

Synopsis:

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.

It’s just that my lofty dreams—making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily—have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.

That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.

With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every 

Continue reading

The Thing About Love by Julie James – Review

The Thing About Love Julie JamesThe Thing About Love by Julie James
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: April 18, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
⭐️⭐️⭐️
3/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & Noble – KoboiBooks

Synopsis:
FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd have a past. The former lawyer and cocky Army ranger clashed during their training at Quantico, gladly going their separate ways after graduating from the Academy. Six years later, the last thing either of them expects is to run into each other again–assigned to work as partners in a high-profile undercover sting.

For both of them, being paired with a former rival couldn’t come at a worse time. Recently Continue reading

The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes – Review

The Girl You Left Behind Jojo MoyesThe Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: September 27, 2012
Genres: Historical Fiction, Contemporary, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
4/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:

What happened to the girl you left behind?
In 1916, French artist Edouard Lefevre leaves his wife Sophie to fight at the Front. When her town falls into German hands, his portrait of Sophie stirs the heart of the local Kommandant and causes her to risk Continue reading

Close Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley – Review

Close Enough to Touch Colleen OakleyClose Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Women’s Fiction
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
5/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
One time a boy kissed me and I almost died…

And so begins the story of Jubilee Jenkins, a young woman with a rare and debilitating medical condition: she’s allergic to other humans. After a humiliating near-death experience in high school, Jubilee has become a recluse, living the past nine years in the Continue reading

The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell – Review

The Young Wives Club Julie PennellThe Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell
Publisher: Atria, Emily Bestler Books, Alloy Entertainment
Publication Date: February 14, 2017
Genres: Women’s Fiction
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: ARC
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
5/5 Stars

AmazonBarnes & NobleApple iBooksKobo

Synopsis:
In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Continue reading